skip to main content
TPCB | Transportation Planning Capacity Building




The Federal government owns and manages approximately 650 million acres of land in the United States—about 30 percent of the nation’s total surface area. Four major Federal Land Management Agencies (FLMAs)—the Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service (USFS) and the Department of the Interior’s Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), and National Park Service (NPS)—are responsible for managing about 95 percent of these lands. Other FLMAs include the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (the Corps).

The FLMA Database includes information about the location of USFS, BLM, FWS, and NPS units and management areas in relation to State and MPO boundaries. Use the Search the FLMA Database box to filter FLMA data by State, MPO, or FLMA. State DOTs and MPOs may use this information to inform coordination and outreach activities with FLMA units within their planning areas.

Search the FLMA Database