Transportation Planning Excellence Awards

The 2019 Transportation Planning Excellence Awards logo

The Transportation Planning Excellence Awards (TPEA) Program is a biennial awards program developed by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA). The program provides a unique opportunity to recognize and celebrate the outstanding transportation planning practices performed by planners and decisionmakers in communities across the country.

Nominations for the 2019 cycle will be accepted from December 11, 2018 - April 5, 2019. For questions, please contact

Who is Eligible?

  • Anyone may nominate an individual or organization that used Federal FHWA/FTA funding to develop a plan, project, or planning process that demonstrates excellence in planning.
  • You may nominate yourself or another individual or organization.
  • The plan, project, or planning process must have been completed within the past three years, as evidenced by actions such as formal adoption by a government agency, completion of a built project, incorporation into a TIP, STIP, or City Plan, or other similar action.
  • Plans, projects, or planning processes can be in one or more of these categories.

For more information about prior winners of the Transportation Planning Excellence Awards and about the TPEA Program in general, please visit or contact FHWA and FTA at

For more information about the TPCB program, please email

FHWA Home   |  FTA Home   |  Privacy Statement   |  Website Feedback
US DOT Logo  United States Department of Transportation